you are worthy

I know that it has been awhile since I have posted and I apologize. I have been getting into the swing of being back in school full-time. With this post I want to change it up and talk about something that has been weighing on my mind.

Measuring self worth has really been something that has been on the forefront of my mind. You look at hit music today and songs like All About That Bass and Shake It Off seem to be all about positive self image. But when you really look at the lyrics for some of these songs you begin to question there basis. For example in All About That Bass it says, “boys they like a little more booty to hold at night” This is giving girls the perception that though you might not look like a model from the magazine and thats good but you also need to be getting some.

We are telling woman and young ladies that ok you are not small but if you want to get some at night you can too. What has happened to showing girls that they matter and they don’t need to look for attention from guys.
Magazines are not showing a positive light either. They have super skinny models that are being photoshopped and don’t really look the way they are portrayed but yet they are seen as beautiful. The articles in these magazines telly you things like how to lose 10 pounds in a week. The image we are giving ladies is that you are only beautiful if you are small. So that is one reason why I think that All About That Bass is positive. It shows that you don’t have to be thin to be pretty.

So many girls wrap there head around this image as beauty being about the size you are and about how pretty you look. They forget that God made us just the way were are. He created us in his image. We are beautiful to him and he should be our number one prize. More emphasis needs to be put on how everyone is beautiful because of the person they are and the character that they portray. I love seeing girls recognize there true inner beauty.

I know that I changed it up with this post but this idea of beauty as your self worth has really been on my mind. What are you thinking? I want to hear your thought so please make comments and let me hear your voice.

Leave a Reply

