healing wounds

I recently went to a women’s retreat with my church. It was a great time of getting to know they ladies and to hear so many different stories. Though what I didn’t realize before that weekend is that I have some wounds that are still unhealed. A few months ago I had done a lot of soul searching and healed many of my wounds, but this weekend I realized not all of them

Do you have some wounds you thought were healed but realize now there is no scar but a scab still over those wounds?

What I realized is that some of the hiccups I had been going through I had forgiven those around me and they were starting to get better but the one person I hadn’t forgiven was myself.

Do you have a place where you need to forgive yourself?

I know I did and I really didn’t know how to forgive myself. For there are passages about forgiving others…

I read this passage and knew that I needed to forgive others because it laid it out so clearly to me.2 Corinthians 2:5 [ Forgiveness for the Offender ] “If anyone has caused grief, he has not so much grieved me as he has grieved all of you to some extent—not to put it too severely.”

But there is also many passages telling us we must forgive others who have hurt us like from this famous passage, Ephesians 4:32 “Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.”

I almost think that is easier to forgive others than to forgive myself. God has forgiven me of my sins and I have forgiven those who have wronged me but I still need to forgive myself. Does anyone else have trouble with this as well?

There is verse after verse about forgiving but I know for myself it took staring this wound in the face to realize I hadn’t forgiven myself. I have been holding on to this for years. This once thought scar is not a scar but a infected scab. I’m not allowing myself to be healed because I am the one holding myself back.

Are you holding yourself back?

These are some great passages on forgiveness:

Psalm 130:4 But with you there is forgiveness, so that we can, with reverence, serve you.

Acts 13:38 “Therefore, my friends, I want you to know that through Jesus the forgiveness of sins is proclaimed to you.

Numbers 14:18 ‘The Lord is slow to anger, abounding in love and forgiving sin and rebellion. Yet he does not leave the guilty unpunished; he punishes the children for the sin of the parents to the third and fourth generation.’

I know that when I read the word it gives me truth and can see how it applies to my life. What i didn’t do in this case is really apply it to me. I applied it to everyone around me. You need to really look into where your pain lies. I know writing everything down really helped me. I wrote every painful statement, every feeling I had and every festering scab started to get better. I felt better and I knew that I was truly beginning to heal. I was holding myself back.

Is there somewhere that you need to forgive yourself for and heal some old wounds?

Thank you so much for reading. feel free to let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

