Moving past those wounds

There is so much in life that just brings us down. I know for me when I know Im seeing a breakthrough and I am overcoming some struggles Satan has a way to try to attack at that very moment. Do you have those moments too?

In that moment of hurt and sorrow its hard to remember that you are not your own and that God created you for a purpose but that is exactly what you need to do.

Last week I posted about overcoming wounds and forgiving ourselves for those wounds but what if we have forgiven ourselves but its the people closest to us who keep bringing those past wounds up?

Two things:
A) You haven’t actually healed from those wounds.
B) A breakthrough is happening and Satan sees this as a way to attack.

If A is were you rest then you should go and read my blog post from las week. If B is where you are at then this means that there amazing things ahead for you.

I was sent this song today by a great friend and I want to share this with you. It reminds us so much of who each of us are in God’s eyes.

I just want to post the lyrics hear as well…

Bring your tired
And bring your shame
Bring your guilt
And bring your pain
Don’t you know that’s not you’re name
You will always be much more to me

Every day I wrestle with the voices
That keep telling me I’m not right
But that’s alright

‘Cause I hear a voice and He calls me redeemed
When others say I’ll never be enough
And greater is the One living inside of me
Than he who is living in the world
In the world
In the world
And greater is the One living inside of me
Than he who is living in the world

Bring your doubts
And bring your fears
Bring your hurt
And bring your tears
There’ll be no condemnation here
You are holy, righteous and redeemed

Every time I fall
There’ll be those who will call me
A mistake
Well that’s OK

‘Cause I hear a voice and He calls me redeemed
When others say I’ll never be enough
And greater is the One living inside of me
Than he who is living in the world
In the world
In the world
And greater is the One living inside of me
Than he who is living in the world

(He’s Greater, He’s Greater)

There’ll be days I lose the battle
Grace says that it doesn’t matter
‘Cause the cross already won the war
He’s Greater, He’s Greater

I am learning to run freely
Understanding just how He sees me
And it makes me love Him more and more
He’s Greater, He’s Greater

There’ll be days I lose the battle
Grace says that it doesn’t matter
‘Cause the cross already won the war
He’s Greater, He’s Greater

I am learning to run freely
Understanding just how He sees me
And it makes me love Him more and more
He’s Greater, He’s Greater

‘Cause I hear a voice and He calls me redeemed
When others say I’ll never be enough
And greater is the One living inside of me
Than he who is living in the world
In the world
In the world
And greater is the One living inside of me
Than he who is living in the world

There’ll be days I lose the battle
Grace says that it doesn’t matter
‘Cause the cross already won the war
He’s Greater, He’s Greater

I am learning to run freely
Understanding just how He sees me
And it makes me love Him more and more
My God is greater (He’s Greater, He’s Greater)
Than he who is living in the world

Read more: Mercy Me – Greater Lyrics | MetroLyrics

This song is so powerful because it tells us, though we struggle with these battles of will and mind that we don’t rest here. Are you resting in this place of shame or do you rest in The God who is greater!!!

Whenever someone mentions your past and tells you need to go back to that place tell them, no thank you. Walk away from that place of shame, regret, and downright untrue words. You don’t rest there. You have a purpose and you were made to do so many great things. Im reminded of the passage from Jeremiah 29:11 that says, “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

God didn’t create you without a plan or a purpose so walk in the understanding that you are beautiful in his image and that he is doing mighty and powerful things through you. That just brings a smile to my face. What about you?

Leave a Reply

